March 22, 2005

Backing Down with Zeal

I�m loathe to admit that I may agree with a few things that Barbara Kay wrote in a snarky op-ed piece about the dearth of female op-ed writers in Canada. Keep in mind that I�m not accepting her wild presumptions about gender difference and the �venomous feminism� of Heather Mallick and Linda McQuaig.

[Ann Coulter just gets to be a �militant anti-liberal� whereas Mallick and McQuaig are called �venomously feminist� and Anti-American? Wake up, Ms. Kay! Being against American policy (foreign or otherwise) doesn�t mean Anti-American. Don�t even get me started on the venomous bit. I�ll show you venomous! HISS.]

Well, maybe I should hold back from baring my fangs. I�m not ready to join the so-called �bitch phylum� for something so distant as a Barbara Kay rant let alone fight an uphill battle against the school administration and a bunch of old boys who purport to care about filling my brain with legal knowledge.

I don�t want to get in the nitty gritty about the cause that I briefly championed and quickly abandoned. While I�m not prepared to step back on the proverbial conveyor belt of Bay Street-chasing rats-in-training, I�m willing to join the ranks of the selfish cynics of the legal realm.

Today was just another reminder that the Old Boys� Club is stronger than ever, especially since it has made room for sycophants of all ages, creeds, colours and genders. Check it out! Academics are welcome too!

Folks like me? Perhaps we can get one foot in the door, but only for the door to be repeatedly slammed on it.

Today, I admit defeat. Today, I even quote Barbara Kay (don�t expect this again, folks): �Women are as smart and skilled at writing as men�[b]ut it seems there are simply not that many women who enjoy the chronic stress of mounting arguments in a public forum.�

I definitely don�t buy Kay�s sweeping generalisations and assumptions, but I do think that Kay would see me as one of those women who have turned their minds away from �exposure to the flak whizzing around intellectual combat zones.�

Ms. Kay, I would like you and the rest of the world to know that I�m not a wussy girl who can�t take the heat. I�m just taking my hotness to another territory of smart sparring that doesn�t involve immature flak.

In effect, I am pulling the plug on the politicking that has infected my politics.

hazel at 15:42

0 comments so far

previous | next