2004-07-15

Sassy suburban secretary at your service!

BLAH. Everytime I come back to my parents' house, my healthy eating gets derailed, I miss my boyfriend like crazy and I watch way too much digital cable television. What is it about the suburbs that can turn a sassy urbanite into a carb-scarfing, daytime-watching, minivan-driving stay-at-home slob? I blame it on urban sprawl.

I've been meaning to write for days, but I've been busy having a mental breakdown about the reverting back to my childhood after cohabitating with the love of my life in my favourite city. BAH. I'm tired of being all pathetic and weepy, so I'm staying focused on the positive aspects of returning "home" to parental care.

Sure, I complain a whole lot about the situation, but I'm actually thrilled about why I am really back in Toronto. I am going to a great law school in September and I'm going to fucking rock that house! I just hope the school isn't infested with money-hungry neo-conservatives. I will squash their little misguided ideals with my band of pragmatic progressives. (It's the biggest freakin' law school in the country, there have to be a few people with brains enough to see that the values I share with my current friends are the only values worth having, right...? :P)

It feels good to be back. I've been ignoring the joys of yammering away into cyberspace (do people even say that anymore? ha!) because I've been too busy living inside my head. Oh yeah, and I've been working and packing and moving...but when has that prevented me from working on developing my carpal tunnel syndrome with the help of a high-speed connection? Exactly.

I should stop the yammering and get to work. I'm trying to minimize my stay here before I start work again on July 26 so that I can maximize quality time with the boy in marvelous Montreal.

Seriously, I have to do something productive. I'm not joking about poring through the pages of the horrific National Post and watching daytime telly. Hey, at least I did some Winsor Pilates today.

A'ight. So I will shut up now, but I'm warning you, I'll be back soon with lots more blah blah blah. Maybe I should file down my nails that are nearing Ayumi Hamasaki-length so that I can actually type. No one likes the trashy secretary look...waitaminute... hundreds of marriages have disintegrated thanks to the trashy seceretary look. I think I'll keep the nails while I can. They're hot. The chipped nail polish is less hot and a bit too trashy for my liking, but nobody's perfect, right?

hazel at 2:42 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next