2004-07-22

Dreaming of Sin City

Couldn't log into my crummy diaryland earlier so I posted this on my Xanga site already.

Thank God for Modest Mouse and their first big hit among the non-indie crowd "Float On." Not only has it helped me be less of a music snob and see that it's a good thing when good music reaches a bigger crowd, it's getting me through the morning.

I fought with my mother last night and it wasn't a pretty sight. I guess I should be happy when my parents put up a united front, but seriously, when both of them have skewed views that make my gut churn, I want to smash my head into a bloody pulp with the shower head.

(Wheee...thank you WinAmp for your playlist shuffling feature's powers to choose the appropriate songs for my mood: Guster's "Amsterdam" right after "Float On"? Yay.)

Times like these make me want to leave all my unimportant shit behind in my parents' house; empty my savings and chequing accounts; hop on a train to Montreal; pick-up plane tix for two to anywhere but here; and elope with my boy.

I could use a fresh start without any of this baggage.

Too bad I'm a stupid ass nerd who cares about her insane family and will try her darndest to deal with their antics in a reasonably zen manner during her law school career. HEAVEN HELP ME.

hazel at 11:16 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next