March 06, 2005

Just Call Me Wordy McWordikins

I am sorry that I have been invisible. I am busier than fuck. Is fuck busy? I don't know? But he sure as hell is probably getting more sleep than I am and therefore is pimple free. Fucking acne-free fucker, that fuck is.

Enough cussing. I'm sorry. I'm not even a true potty mouth! To be sure, I don't even really like swearing out loud. I just need to right now, okay?

The past few days have been mad. I also have also been slightly mad at times. I was particularly furious at my genes on Wednesday since I found out that ONE WEEK of not militantly watching every goddamn thing I put into my mouth caused a 2 pound weight gain. 3500 calories per pound my ass. If that were the case, my ass wouldn't be so big. GAH! Genes are not destiny. I will outsmart them.

(You bet I hit the gym for over 2 hours of HARD work yesterday. Mmmmm...exercise endorphins.)

Anyway, I had a semi-scary job interview that included evil questions like "How do you feel about long hours?" after being told that in her first year working there, the lawyer who interviewed me worked "days, nights and weekends." WTF am I getting myself into? I leave it up to fate. If I get a position there, I will slave away for 3.5 months to gain the necessary experience to bring me back up to the level where I belong in the eyes of future employers (that'll teach me not to get shitty marks.) In the process, I will face my fear of private practice and litigation and find out if I really don't want to be that kind of traditional lawyer. I spend too much time making decisions without having the experience to back those choices up. I say that I am not interested in traditional lawyering, but a summer in crazy legal hell (or potential heaven) with pay will really show me if there's any truth to that feeling. We'll see. I'll let you know what I decide.

I also went to Public Interest Day, which was AWESOME. :) How refreshing to be around like-minded students. How refreshing to meet some of the most interesting lawyers Ontario has to offer.

Aside from an uplifting and inspiring keynote speech, there were some fantastic panel discussions that got my heart and mind going.

One particular discussion reaffirmed my interest in working my ass off towards one of those old, and then new again, dreams. Yeah, the foreign service is calling me again, baby. It is going to take a lot of preparation and guts. There are no guarantees that I'll make it in and even more concerns if I do make it in; but I'll cross that bridge when the time comes. If I get rotated all around the world as a slave on the lowest end of the diplomatic hierarchy, please come visit me and my (new) family. Even if I'm in the middle of nowheresville Uzbekistan.

As you can see, I don't care if brevity is the key to communication.

On that note, more randomness:

I have a true tylenol-resistant splitting headache.

I think that I may be getting sick as a result of excessive amounts of stress and complete exhaustion. Lovely.

Over the past week and a half I have been hogging Angela's bandwidth by going through her gallery of beautiful Singaporeans and/or listening to her divine radio blog. I am evil incarnate. But go visit yourself and you'll see that it's all too irresistible.

Spending time with two of my favourite McGill girls here in the T-dot from New Hampshire and Japan was amazing. I love you ladies so so so so much. You are so fly. Seeing our Baltimore buddy over yummy Greek eats on the Danforth was another bonus. God, you are amazing! Watch out, photos may be posted!

Soooo much more to write about but the exhaustion-headache-sickness monster is attacking like never before. Well no, there was that time when the gastro made things come out BOTH ends at the same time.

It's not that I don't know where to draw the line. Sometimes I just prefer to flout it. Oh yeah, flaunt it and flout it, baby.

Peace be with y'all.

hazel at 22:30

0 comments so far

previous | next