March 14, 2005

I have to believe that you are smiling down on us

I handed in another shitty piece of work because I was having a hard time concentrating last night.

I found out in a really twisted way about a friend's death. No one, not even mamma Flo, had dircetly told me about it after the accident; and I didn't keep up with all the McGill media. We hadn't kept in touch since we weren't very close, but we shared many a meal in the RVC cafeteria during our shared year as Floor Fellows.

Driscoll had the biggest smile ever. Sometimes he'd just crack this goofy grin at you and you couldn't help but smile.

I think that I only heard/saw him perform once...maybe it was at Le Swimming when Mikey's band was playing too? At any rate, I know that he was a megawatt talent that was loved by musical communities from PEI to Banff and beyond.

McGill has already openly mourned the loss of Chris; but I never got to do so until last night.

The bylines read tragic accident, but I don't think they capture the tragedy...

Oh Chris, I don't have the words.

I know that we weren't close, but I'll miss you anyway. I'll always remember your goofy antics like the maritime mudslide down the hill by Douglas Hall that left you with those horrific gashes on your tummy. *shudder*

I'm sorry that I didn't get to know you better in life, but the love was there.

I'm off to make a donation to the scholarship that the Banff Centre has created in your name. The music and memory will live on, buddy.

More than your massive talent and irrepressible wit, we miss YOU, Chris. I'll never forget you.

hazel at 15:13

0 comments so far

previous | next