2004-08-31

Let's get jurisprudential!

I had been meaning to jot down my thoughts on my first day of law school, but didn't make it to the computer after the pub crawl. That's not because I consumed too much alcohol (since I'm a non-drinker), but just out of sheer exhaustion.

I noticed by the end of the day that I had ended up hanging out with guys only. I'm not sure what is up with that. Maybe I miss my boyfriend and crave some male energy. No, it's probably just because so many of the girls were hardcore done-up and eager to impress and I couldn't handle it. Also, I spent most of the day with Keegan, who might have intimidated the ladies with his good looks. Heh.

Wow. I wish I could actually put the words together but the fatigue is really killing me. It's been an exhausting few days.

Today was my first real day of class and I had a blast. I had my first Contracts class and although I was eager to take in the law, I wasn't quite ready to raise my hand and barge into our discussion. Also, I had trouble getting used to typing my notes in class instead of taking them by hand.

I sat next to one of my favourite new classmates who has one of the most fascinating life stories I've ever heard. That is certainly one of the greatest things about going to law school (possibly about going to my particular school too): the diversity of the student body. From kids like me who are hitting the casebooks right after completion of our undergraduate degrees to the mature students with detached suburban homes and children, my class comes from all walks of life. Huzzah.

Okay. I must stop since I'm making an ass of myself. Really, I had some fascinating things to say, but now I only have my workout on my mind. Off to burn and firm a bit before bed.

Good night! I leave you with a goofy picture taken with my webcam. EDIT: Apparently, that picture makes me look naked. While I love being in my birthday suit, I don't know if I want people to think that I parade in front of my camera in it! Here's a less flattering, but clearly clothed image of me.

hazel at 9:09 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next