2004-09-14

Legal Schmegal

I had my first duty counsel shift at the school's legal aid clinic and I'm psyched. Social justice for all! It's awesome because it exposes some of the irritating right-wing upstarts who only apply to work at the clinic for C.V.-boosting credit, to ways of using their overpriced education for social change. It's cool too, because there are a fair amount of people working at the clinic who share my values, allowing me to speak freely without worrying about eyes rolling. Not that I don't usually speak freely, but today in Torts class there was a small discussion on gender roles that left me speechless. Honestly, some of these students may be intelligent, but as far as I am concerned, they are living in the dark ages! Thank God for one progressive person (a fellow UTS alumnus no less!) for sharing my reaction and actually speaking up with faced all scrunched up to show his incredulity.

In other news, I collected all the signatures to validate my nomination for Student Caucus rep only to discover that there are two other girls running. My competition isn't really scaring me though. I feel like I am mostly competing with one of the girls who happens to broadly share my worldview and has thus become one of my new friends. We'll see how it goes.

I also decided against applying for the law journal since I very badly want Caucus and assume my enthusiasm will turn into an electoral victory which would make working at the journal too much of a strain. There's also the fact that it's got ivory tower written all over it and I left political science to escape that.

This was extraordinarily boring, but you'll have to forgive me since I am beyond all definitions of exhaustion. I came home today hoping to go to a BodyFlow class and ended up crashing into bed (after refined carb-consumption to boot) for an extended nap that had me waking up so confused that I thought that it was 7 a.m.! I was like, "Damn...what time do I have class...? Should I be getting up now? Why can I see so well?" Heh. That last question sort of clinched it for me. I was wearing my contacts and since I'm like a freakin' mole, I usually wake up all squinty and clumsily reach around for my glasses.

It's getting late and I have work to do. Some things never change. Bah. I don't want to review my criminal cases, but I am supposed to be an "expert" so I might as well just in case I get called on again. I really must rent The Paper Chase.

Tomorrow, I have four hours of class + a two hour training session for the clinic. Then I've got to hit the gym and pick-up Dave from the airport! YAY! Heh. I love how our house is a complete mess and no one cares to make an effort to clean-up before Dave returns. It makes me feel like he's already part of the fam. Okay, so not quite...but he is my family already even if we don't have any legal documents. So there.

hazel at 10:39 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next