2004-10-07

I'm going to give myself a stomach ulcer

I tried to post this yesterday but diaryland wouldn't let me. Maybe that's a sign. Read at your own risk:

I keep composing diary entries as I prance around the city or daydream while pretending to study contract law. I guess "to compose" isn't the appropriate verb...but heck, this thing isn't about using the perfect word. It's about ME. So there.

Sigh. I've noticed that I sigh a lot. Or maybe I just type "sigh" a lot. Who knows? All I know is that I feel like sighing a whole lot. It must be autumn.

Don't get me wrong. Autumn is the absolute best. You say fall, I say autumn. Well no, that's not entirely true. I also like to say fall. It depends on my mood. When I'm being puritanical, I say autumn. I've been known to yell "American spelling is the devil!" at the top of my lungs, so it's no surprise that I prefer autumn to fall. But I digress.

Oh right. All those entries. If I weren't so damn busy and crazy, I suppose you all (the 2 or so people who actually read this beat-up old thing) would know all about my current state of mind, but instead I've been living in my little bubble. And I must say, that bubble has been rather isolating. And so I feel the sticky hands of depression grabbing at my feet while I kick and scream like an angry toddler. NONONONONONONO! I will not give into the regular seasonal drama. I'm not having it, I tell you!

Actually, I had a really fantastic weekend. It's Wednesday, but I'll tell you about my weekend anyway. Of course, there was the usual moping and procrastinating and OH! an enormous fight-cum-cathartic-sobbing/bonding-session with my brother; but there was also some other relatively calm goodness.

I went to brunch with some of the best people in the city (who am I kidding? Some of the best folk in the world!) It was really awesome to see my girlfriends. I was always the one who feared that we would grow apart, yet I've been too I'm-not-sure-what to keep it all together. Anyway, we usually go for mediocre sushi in ritzy Yorkville, but today we opted for mediocre Western and fusion in the financial district. The foodies in us give way to student budgets and poor planning. Meh. Even though I didn't like our restaurant of choice, I was really pleased to have dragged my ass deep downtown for brunch as I hadn't been there in a really long time. I had forgotten how BCE Place is! It really takes your breath away.

And so, we chowed down on our overrated food and chatted to our heart's content. Like always, I bitched and moaned about everything and everyone under the sun--or perhaps just under the suburban sun--and my equally elitist friends nodded and provided intelligent commentary. Heh. Maybe Adam's description of what we do will help you. This is his attempt to paraphrase or satirize (you be the judge) an invitation from one of our cronies to his birthday gathering:

"Please join me and my pretentious UTS cronies in a predictably forgettable
night of mutual self-aggrandizement, whilst we collectively expound our mind-numbingly parochial viewpoints regarding a miscellany of trivial pursuits. Be sure to mentally prepare a list of books you haven't read, in order to properly facilitate participation in our round table discussion."

Where was I? Oh yes. Girlfriends. It was amazing to talk to my kind of people! No more law school small talk! Now that is mind-numbing! It was glorious to be cynical without remorse. Yay!

Relationships and sex. Urinary tract infections and other health problems. Left vs. right. Beijing opera and other opera. There was talk of many a subject. Actually, there was plenty of opera talk since Helen works for a Chinese opera company and Kiara works for the Canadian Opera Company and Caroline goes to just about every COC opera as time and $ permit. Actually, they all go to the opera regularly. Everyone was at 'The Handmaid's Tale" yesterday. Everyone but me. But again, I digress.

God, this is getting too long and I have a ton of work to do tonight. Shite. Let me just say that following brunch, I walked through some of my favourite areas of the city, effectively ending my painful withdrawal from the splendours of urban living. Through the fashion district, Chinatown, OCAD/AGO grange area, UofT campus, Philospher's Walk, Bloor St...I could go on and on. I can't forget that I love this city just because I'm so isolated from all the places I love. I've got to get my arse downtown more often.

Anyway, it's back to work for me. Toodles, poodles.

hazel at 11:29 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next