December 10, 2004

Canadian Triumph

Wee! I'm not loathing my diaryland page anymore!

The past few days have been downright insane. Okay, I know I say that often, but this time I mean it! C'mon, you know you love the drama. Why else would you be visiting me here?

Anyway, I've had my fair share of old demons returning to meet new ones just within the past week! Madness I tell you! At least I've learnt a lot about how to better prepare for these crazy exams. Even if I come out with some awful marks, I'll have to remember the words of a very wise man (my man, actually!): They're just two bad exams. You know what you're worth.

That's right. I'm worth a helluva lot more than some shitty law school exams. I just lost my head. I've got no excuse this year since I'm not in therapy, so I can't plead insanity. Actually, it's really fantastic not being able to use craziness as an excuse. Look at me world: I'm not a helpless, quivering blob! It's good to get some perspective, eh?

In other news, let us all bow down to the judiciary with joy-filled hearts. I am wildly proud to be Canadian today. Thank you to the Supreme Court of Canada for being around to enforce our almighty Charter of Rights and Freedoms. I just want to do a little happy dance! Usually, trying to have a discussion with someone who is against same-sex marriage is tiring mostly because as Andrew Coyne said in the National Post a few days ago, "I can think of no good arguments against it, and several in favour of it." Without being absolutist and elitist, Coyne had me nodding all through out his commentary. That may be one of the first times (aside from when I read Rebecca Eckler) that I didn't want to tear the paper (read: dirty right-wing rag) into pieces beacuse of some ridiculous editorial.

I'm taking a break from listening to silly people talk about how marriage is about procreation etc. Yeah, all those married couples without children including fantastic (and traditional!) people in my family without kids have illegitimate marriages, right? Man. Those kinds of arguments kill me. It is kind of fun to watch how flustered people get when they think about the marriages of religious, traditional straight people who can't or don't want to have kids. :P

The ruling is stupendous. Really, I'm beyond thrilled. Yesterday on the news (The National, because it is millions of times better than CTV news in case you were wondering), they aired a segment about loving families complete with two mommies or two daddies and two kidlets. There were two little boys who had been adopted by a gay couple after being subjected to years of foster care. Yeah, that's right. They're straight mommy and daddy lost them or gave them up because they couldn't raise them. Now they're thriving with two nurturing dads who are married. Rock on, brother! I could go on and on.

I'm only really sorry to see all these people get their panties into a knot about the issue especially from a religious perspective. The LGBT-folk of Canada aren't going to be flocking to your churches, temples, synagogues etc. to get married if you discriminate against them already. The Charter also protects you from having to marry them if you are morally-opposed to it. But thank the deities of all your religions that the Charter allows them to go to City Hall and commit to one another in front of their family, friends and whoever else they'd like.

I have to find the Coyne commentary that I tore out of the paper. He reminded us that prior to the recent provincial rulings (and now the SCC ruling) we weren't facing Jim Crow laws, but parallels could justifiably be drawn.

I'm so pleased right now. Don't burst my bubble. I'm actually off to study Canadian public law right now. Specifically, I'm looking at rights. To be even more specific, I'm going to study Charter rights. Don't mess with me! *grin* Yay.

hazel at 22:31

0 comments so far

previous | next