February 21, 2005

Hobnobbery with the French Snobbery

Funny that my cousin wrote in her blog that she'd be hobnobbing with "pretentious people and French snobs" in Montreal. One of the beauties of Montreal (and yet another reason why other Canadians don't hate it as much of the CentreoftheUniverse(tm)) is that it marries European sensibilities with a down-home vibe. I mean, c'mon, a loud, raspy "BEN LA LA" coming from a leathery, emaciated, ultra-Quebecoise diner waitress really does make you believe that white trash and frou frou francais can get along. It's really damn fascinating. Any ethnographers out there? Amateur anthropologists? Get on it, people!

Heh. French snobs in Montreal. Tell that to a pure laine Montrealer who is used to railing on them maudits anglais dans l'ouest.

Maybe she gets that whole pretentious thing from me. MUAHAHA. I love being facetious. Oh how I love it! You know you love it too. :)

I'm a bit caffed up and really reluctant to finish my CivPro assignment. I can't help myself from really hunkering down in front of my laptop in the middle of the night, eh? Oh seductive light from the screen, inspire me to fill the page with semi-coherent words. Pretty please with a cherry on top!

Must get back to work. I'm dying to recount my latest adventures, but most of them involve severe jaw pain caused from that lovely combination of physical defect and stress.

Other adventures include things that would scandalize my poor brother and only remind me that I have undermined my triumphant 2 pound loss by consuming delicious food like heavenly momos and Uighur-inspired pseudo-Tibetan soup! YUM. Is that snobby enough for you? Me thinks so!

Mille bisous, mes amis!

hazel at 02:16

1 comments so far

previous | next